/  News Items

News Items

Press Release - Chairman McGovern, Congresswoman Jayapal, and Congresswoman Dingell Announce Historic Rules Committee Hearing on the Medicare for All Act

Apr 23, 2019

WASHINGTON, DC — Rules Committee Chairman James P. McGovern (D-MA), Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), and Congresswoman Debbie Dingell (D-MI) announced today that the House Rules Committee will hold an original jurisdiction hearing on the Medicare for All Act of 2019 on Tuesday, April 30th at 10am ET in H-313, The Capitol. It marks the first time Congress has ever held a hearing on Medicare for All.

Press Release - Chairman McGovern Manages Rule for Resolution Disapproving of Republicans’ War on the Affordable Care Act

Apr 2, 2019

WASHINGTON, DC — On the House Floor today, Rules Committee Chairman James P. McGovern (D-MA) managed a rule for consideration of H. Res. 271, a resolution condemning the Trump administration’s legal campaign to take away Americans’ health care. The measure follows the Trump Justice Department’s recent announcement that it would not defend the Affordable Care Act in court as part of the Texas v U.S. lawsuit, signaling its belief that the landmark law is unconstitutional.

Press Release - Chairman McGovern Welcomes New Members to the House Rules Committee

Feb 13, 2019

WASHINGTON, DC — Rules Committee Chairman James P. McGovern (D-MA) today welcomed two new Majority members appointed to the committee for the 116th Congress: Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), who also served on the committee during the 111thCongress, and Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11). Four Majority members were already appointed earlier this Congress: Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-5), Rep. Joseph D. Morelle (NY-25), and Rep. Donna E. Shalala (FL-27).