Chairman McGovern Welcomes New Members to the House Rules Committee

WASHINGTON, DC — Rules Committee Chairman James P. McGovern (D-MA) today welcomed two new Majority members appointed to the committee for the 116th Congress: Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), who also served on the committee during the 111thCongress, and Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11). Four Majority members were already appointed earlier this Congress: Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-5), Rep. Joseph D. Morelle (NY-25), and Rep. Donna E. Shalala (FL-27). They join fellow Majority members Rep. Alcee Hastings (FL-20) and Rep. Norma Torres (CA-35).

“The House Rules Committee gives its members a unique opportunity to shape major legislation before it goes to the Floor. Representative Perlmutter and Representative DeSaulnier’s addition to the committee will build on the unique backgrounds our members are bringing to the Rules Committee this Congress. Their perspectives will be invaluable as we continue working to create a House that is more accommodating and responsive to the American people,” said Chairman McGovern.  

“I also want to thank my friend, Congresswoman Matsui, for her service on the Rules Committee. She served on the committee in the past and her willingness to join us temporarily in the opening days of this Congress allowed us to hit the ground running and deliver results quickly for the people we represent,” continued McGovern.

Representative Ed Perlmutter was first elected to represent Colorado’s 7th Congressional District in 2006 where his number one priority is creating policies that give people the opportunity to pursue their own American dream. In the 116th  Congress, he is proud to serve on three committees in the House: Financial Services; Science, Space and Technology; and Rules. Representative Perlmutter is also a member of the New Democrat Coalition which is focused on harnessing American ingenuity and innovation to create new jobs, greater economic prosperity, and a safer and more secure future for our county.

For over 25 years, Representative Mark DeSaulnier has served at nearly every level of government from mayor to the California assembly and senate, where he passed 61 bills into law and received the distinction of being the first freshman in history to chair the Assembly Transportation Committee. For the past four years, he has represented California’s 11th Congressional District in the East Bay of San Francisco. He was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, attended Holy Cross, and has been a small business owner most of his career.

Feb 13, 2019